I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review + Giveaway: With Every Breath by Maya BanksWith Every Breath by Maya Banks
Series: Slow Burn #4
Published by Avon on August 23, 2016
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense
AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksAdd to Goodreads
three-stars
As a vulnerable teenager, Eliza Cummings was the target of a predator who cultivated her need for love and approval. Until she found the courage to fight back and help put him away. Years later, she works with Devereaux Security Services and devotes every hour to taking down the very thing that nearly destroyed her. But now the killer has been set free, and Eliza knows it’s only a matter of time before he comes for her, and the people she loves.

Wade Sterling never allows anyone close enough to see the man behind the impenetrable mask—but one woman threatens his tightly leashed control. He took a bullet for Eliza and the result was more than a piece of metal embedded in his skin. She was under his skin and nothing he did could rid him of the woman with the heart of a warrior.

But when Wade sees a panicked and haunted Eliza he knows something is very wrong, because the foolish woman has never had the sense to be afraid of anything. So when she tries to draw a monster away, the primal beast barely lurking beneath his deceptively polished façade erupts in a rage. She may not know it, but she belongs to him. This time, Eliza isn’t going to play the protector. She was going to be the protected. And as long as Wade breathes, no one will ever hurt what is his.

I’ve been hearing about author Maya Banks’ Slow Burn series for a while, and I’ve been meaning to pick it up, so when the opportunity to read and review book 4, With Every Breath, I took it. I’d read and enjoyed books from her KGI and Sweet series in the past, so I had two expectations going into this read: (1) that there’d be an element of danger to the plot, and (2) that there’d be some steamy scenes to enjoy. And I was right.

Keep reading for my review, plus learn how you can win a digital copy of Maya Banks’ With Every Breath, book 4 in the Slow Burn series.

While I had to wait until past the halfway point to get to the seriously steamy scenes, I was happy to do so because oh-so-alpha hero Wade Sterling came on hard and strong with a mouth that uttered sinful promises and an attitude that spoke of an explosive personality between the sheets. Surprisingly, though, this rough-edged, devil-may-care hero prefaced the steam with a heavy dose of sweetness. And not only was he sweet and steamy in the bedroom, but he also proved to be refreshingly accepting of the fact that he’s in love with heroine Eliza Cummings. It’s nice to see an alpha who isn’t fighting fate and cupid with everything he’s got.

On the other hand, Eliza was a character I had a bit of a hard time connecting with. It’s not that I didn’t admire how she’d survived all the pain and horror life threw her way, because I did. I just wish that I had gotten to know the strong, sassy Eliza the other characters in this book talk and think about, because the one I meet in this book is something of a basket case. I mean, she’s got good reason to be, once we learn the details of her past, but I got some marked martyr syndrome and damsel-in-distress vibes from her character. Still, she came through in the end, and I guess that’s what matters.

To be honest, I think maybe my feeling of a stunted introduction to these two characters may well be my own fault, for not starting the series at the beginning. I was able to track the story and even the ensemble of characters pretty well, although I can imagine that long-time fans will love the interactions with the heroes and heroines of books 1 through 3. I was at times frustrated and confused by the logistics of psychic abilities as they pertain to the various characters I met, but this did not detract from the drama of the scenes and interactions.

And speaking of drama, this was definitely a dramatic read, full of italics and passionate statements. It was a little disorienting at first to be dropped in the middle of it, as you learn a lot about everyone fairly quickly while getting an incendiary dose of our heroes’ chemistry, but once I got used to it I pretty much sped through the read.

I’m giving this book a provisional three stars (provisional because I suspect I’d have scored it higher had I read the previous books before diving into this one), but I will say that if you enjoy alpha heroes and gun-toting heroines plus a lot of verbal sniping in your romances, then With Every Breath is a book you may want to pick up. I’d also recommend it for fans of Laurelin Paige, Lindsay McKenna, and Sylvia Day.

 

Feel Factor Rating:

steam-factor3

swoon-factor2

intrigue-factor1

adrenaline-factor1

 

Slow Burn Series Reading Order:

1. Keep Me Safe
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

2. In His Keeping
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

3. Safe at Last
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

4. With Every Breath
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

5. Just One Touch (releasing May 9, 2017)
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

 

About Maya Banks

My name is Maya Banks and I live in Texas with my husband and three children and our assortment of pets. I’m more of a cat person, but my daughter became convinced she NEEDED a dog. So convinced in fact that it became her mission to convince her father and me. She prepared a Maya's Dogtwo page hand written proposal that detailed WHY she needed a dog, and well, after I sent her to her father (I knew he wouldn’t tell her no) we embarked on the search for the perfect dog. The journey that was two hours away and that I got pulled over for speeding while I was on the phone with my agent who had an offer from a publisher for one of my books… The officer wasn’t impressed. He wrote me a ticket anyway. Thus, I now tell my daughter that her dog turned into one very expensive concession! But isn’t he cute?

When I’m not writing, I love to hunt and fish with my family. We all love the outdoors and go on family hunting trips every year. We also love to travel. One of our more recent trips was to Scotland, which was every bit as comical as National Lampoon’s European Vacation. You know the part about “Look kids, Big Ben, Parliament” as they went round and round the roundabouts? Yeah, that was us, only we couldn’t even get out of the airport in Glasgow without hitting three of those suckers.

Perhaps the most rewarding aspect of a writing career is getting to meet so many wonderful readers. There’s nothing better than dishing books with someone who loves the romance genre as much as I do. Romance readers are passionate and vocal. We love our books, love our happily ever afters, and we love to spend time talking to others about our favorites. THIS is why I love my job so much, and I’m so grateful to readers who gave ME a chance when I began my career. So thank you.

*Photo and bio from MayaBanks.com

 

Giveaway

Join the raffle below for the chance to win a digital copy of With Every Breath by Maya Banks, courtesy of the publisher.

a Rafflecopter giveaway