I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia BriggsSilence Fallen by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #10
Published by Ace Books on March 7, 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksAdd to Goodreads
In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy’s bond with the pack—and her mate—is broken, she’ll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes—only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...

I’ve never met a Patricia Briggs book I didn’t like, but of her Mercy Thompson series has got to be my favorite from an author who has given me a few favorite characters and series over the years. And I was so excited to get an advanced copy of her next book, Silence Fallen, that I skipped an entire night’s sleep to devour it. And in the time since I downloaded the ARC into my e-reader, I’ve read it no less than three times. 

I hope I’m not spoiling anything when I say I’ve been relishing the glimpse into Mercy’s mate Adam’s brain afforded by a couple of the previous books, and this book gives even more Alpha werewolf love, with several chapters being devoted to Adam’s point of view. That’s just one of the reasons I love this book.

Another is that as a fan I get to dive much, much deeper into the universe Briggs has created with her Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series. Characters and political intrigues mentioned in passing in previous books suddenly are front, center, and fully fleshed out in this one. And not just because the action is transplanted from its usual setting of Washington’s Tri-Cities area to freaking Europe (Europe!), but because being out the series’s usual milieu allows for the introduction to a whole new cast of characters (a couple of whom are interesting enough to warrant a novel on their own). Not only that, but it amps up the stakes for characters I’ve known and loved through at least 10 books and shines a light on a different facet of their personality, history, or personal beliefs I didn’t quite get a proper look at in previous books.

I got all that, plus we get a reinforcement of some of the things I love most about the series, such as:

  • Mercy’s superhuman ability to escape a heaping pile of trouble only to find herself hip deep in an even bigger one
  • Adam’s struggle to keep his inner caveman locked in the cave he belongs in
  • The way the Marrok is a lot more human, a much better man, and totally adorbz besides that than he’d let himself believe
  • The convoluted tricksiness of Coyote

I am sure there are things I’m failing to mention.

When all is said and done, I just have to say that, as a long-time fan of this series, the only way I would’ve found Silence Fallen more satisfying was if it had come with a big box of chocolate. I knew I was going to like the book—it’s a given for any read Patricia Briggs sets her pen to. I didn’t know I was going to love it to bits. Which I totally did.


Feel Factor Ratings


Mercy Thompson Series Reading Order:

1. Moon Called
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

2. Blood Bound
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

3. Iron Kissed
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

4. Bone Crossed
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

5. Silver Borne
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

6. River Marked
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

7. Frost Burned
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

8. Night Broken
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

Shifting Shadows: Stories from the World of Mercy Thompson
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

9. Fire Touched
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads

10. Silence Fallen
Buy on AmazonAdd to Goodreads


About Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs was born in Butte, Montana to a children’s librarian who passed on to her kids a love of reading and books. Patricia grew up reading fairy tales and books about horses, and later developed an interest in folklore and history. When she decided to write a book of her own, a fantasy book seemed a natural choice. Patricia graduated from Montana State University with degrees in history and German and she worked for a while as a substitute teacher. Currently, she lives in Montana with her husband, children and six horses and writes full-time, much to the delight of her fans.