Book Review: Apprentice in Death by J.D. RobbApprentice in Death by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #43
Published by Berkley on September 6, 2016
Genres: Crime Fiction
AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksAdd to Goodreads
Nature versus nurture…

The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people were dead at Central Park’s ice skating rink. The victims: a talented young skater, a doctor, and a teacher. As random as random can be.

Eve Dallas has seen a lot of killers during her time with the NYPSD, but never one like this. After reviewing security videos, it becomes clear that the victims were killed by a sniper firing a tactical laser rifle, who could have been miles away when the trigger was pulled. And though the locations where the shooter could have set up seem endless, the list of people with that particular skill set is finite: police, military, professional killer.

Eve’s husband, Roarke, has unlimited resources—and genius—at his disposal. And when his computer program leads Eve to the location of the sniper, she learns a shocking fact: There were two—one older, one younger. Someone is being trained by an expert in the science of killing, and they have an agenda. Central Park was just a warm-up. And as another sniper attack shakes the city to its core, Eve realizes that though we’re all shaped by the people around us, there are those who are just born evil…

I’m going to get right into it and say that my first reaction to reading Apprentice in Death, book 43 in J.D. Robb’s In Death series featuring Lt. Eve Dallas, was “Holy smokes! I’ve been waiting for this Dallas book for ages!” And even now, that reaction still holds true. 

For one thing, I’ve been watching serial killer documentaries for years, anything I could get my hands on, and the DC/Beltway sniper case has always intrigued me. I remember thinking a years ago (around the time I read book 17, Imitation in Death) that I would be very interested in seeing how Dallas, Roarke and the NYPSD dealt with a sniper attack, not just the psychology of it but the technology, given how weapons must have evolved in the not-too-distant future where this series takes place.

Well, I got my wish, and I was not disappointed. Because not only was this a fundamentally interesting case for team Dallas, but it showed off some excellent points in the series and in any suspenseful read that I’d been missing in some of the books that have come out in the past couple of years.

First off, we get to see Roarke’s genius geek side. Secondly, the pacing of the police work is fast, as is necessitated by the attacks, yet the book still pulls at your heart strings in the way Dallas deals with the victims and their families, not to mention a little side story in her personal life. Thirdly, you get a hit of the romance part in this romantic suspense; I don’t know why, but this book seems to have brought the magic back to Roarke and Eve’s sex life that I didn’t realize had been missing until I read this. Fourth, we get updates on what the Dallas gang are up to, and we meet a few new faces I hope will become, if not permanent fixtures, then at least guest stars in upcoming novels.

I honestly can’t be too objective about this book except to say that if there’s something new in the water J.D. Robb is drinking, I really hope she keeps drinking it because if the way she attacked Apprentice in Death and the previous book, Brotherhood in Death, is any indication, things are heating the hell up in Dallas world.


Feel Factor Rating:







In Death Series
Reading Order (Full Novels):

1. Naked in Death
2. Glory in Death
3. Immortal in Death
4. Rapture in Death
5. Ceremony in Death
6. Vengeance in Death
7. Holiday in Death
8. Conspiracy in Death
9. Loyalty in Death
10. Witness in Death
11. Judgment in Death
12. Betrayal in Death
13. Seduction in Death
14. Reunion in Death
15. Purity in Death
16. Portrait in Death
17. Imitation in Death
18. Divided in Death
19. Visions in Death
20. Survivor in Death
21. Origin in Death
22. Memory in Death
23. Born in Death
24. Innocent in Death
25. Creation in Death
26. Strangers in Death
27. Salvation in Death
28. Promises in Death
29. Kindred in Death
30. Fantasy in Death
31. Indulgence in Death
32. Treachery in Death
33. New York to Dallas
34. Celebrity in Death
35. Delusion in Death
36. Calculated in Death
37. Thankless in Death
38. Concealed in Death
39. Festive in Death
40. Obsession in Death
41. Devoted in Death
42. Brotherhood in Death
43. Apprentice in Death


About J.D. Robb

J.D. Robb is the pseudonym for a number-one New York Times-bestselling author of more than 170 novels, including the futuristic suspense In Death series. There are more than 300 million copies of her books in print.